Planning Casey’s 1st Birthday

Naturally, my first post is going to be about my favourite little man, Casey, and I thought I would share with you all the details of his first birthday! Case will be turning one on April 1st, so I’ve already started getting items and finding inspiration on Pinterest. The theme that I’m trying to work with is an outdoorsy/camping theme, with plaid and black and gold as the accent colours. I’ve always loved organizing and entertaining, so it was obvious that I would go all out for his first birthday party. I wanted to make as many of the decorations that I could, but also wanted to purchase a few “bigger” items to keep the stress down a bit.

Pinterest and Etsy have played a huge part in the inspiration and decoration department, and I definitely encourage you to check out Etsy if you’re ever looking for party details(or anything for that matter)! I’m a firm believer in supporting Canadian shops because not only is shipping super cheap, but with our dollar it seems like a no brainer to go with something closer to home. The one idea I had in my head was to have a gold banner to hang behind his high chair or over the food table, and I was able to get a custom one made from Tender Love Cardstock  that says, “Casey Is One” in big gold letters. Keeping in sync with the theme, I was able to purchase a ginormous number one balloon (40″ tall) to have beside his high chair. I got it here  from a great shop that has so many different party supplies and it’s conveniently located in Toronto *fist pump*. The last thing I purchased was a burlap banner that said “Happy Birthday” on two different strands and it came in super fast. The shop is called Willow Bloom Wreaths and they have the cutest rustic themed decorations for all occasions. Etsy is the bomb!

Here are some of the Pinterest ideas that I have been going with :
276f935350bd05460d938a2c4883dbce

ce6d32042b1cc4cb805a0c6827580636

As for the rest of the party, so far I have made cupcake toppers that are gold 1’s and hope to make some that look like spruce trees as well. I’ll be doing a healthier version of a smash cake in three tiers for him, and then carrot cake cupcakes for the rest of the peeps! I’ve yet to make a fabric banner for his high chair, still on the lookout for the right pieces, but will definitely get that done soon. My excitement levels are through the roof with how it will all come together. It is definitely a bittersweet moment to realize that your little baby is turning into a toddler, when it feels like just the other day we brought him home from the hospital. I know, typical, but seriously time keeps moving whether you want it to or not and nothing prepares you for it to go this fast. That being said, I actually can’t wait for him to have his own ideas on themes for his birthdays when he’s older and will definitely try my best to make his visions come to life. But until then, I am going to enjoy him being little and cute and having free range on this birthday!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

