Word Vomit

Ok, so first off, I have to admit, I’m feeling a lot better about starting this blog after the response I got on Instagram (dani.d09) from sharing my new endeavor. I may not have a million followers, but they’re good followers and I honestly can’t think of a better social media site that could be any more positive. I was a tad nervous to actually post that I had started a blog and adding it to my information on my IG account made me feel somewhat legit but also somewhat anxious. All the feels bruh.

Anyways, as Casey naps, I thought I would dive right in and just explain a bit about what this blog means to me and what I hope to accomplish with it. I have so many thoughts running around in my head that I was worried this would come across as ramblings, but no better way to get them under control than to write them out!

I aptly titled this post “Word Vomit”, because let’s be honest, we’ve all been there. You know, the situation where words spew out of your mouth and you have no chance at ever stopping them and you think to yourself, this is it. This is how it ends. And your cheeks start to burn and you feel as if you could disappear into the floor. This feeling only intensifies as the person you are talking to stares blankly at your face and wonders what the hell is going on in your head. It’s happened to everyone at least once in their lifetime, and maybe for others it’s a daily occurance. Nonetheless, I get you, I’ve been there! And this post may come across as that exact situation at times, so be warned.

Back to the blog! As I explained on my “About” page, I had a few reasons for wanting to start this. This past year I have realized that stepping out of my comfort zone comes with the territory of having a child and I decided I needed to apply that to all aspects of my life. Stop hiding, stop keeping your thoughts to yourself, start expressing your opinions, start getting comfortable with being uncomfortable (cliche I know), and start doing things that scare me, because in reality, what’s the worst that could happen? At least I can say that I tried, and I honestly can’t believe it has taken me this long to come to that realization and actually follow through with it. I’ve always loved writing. Absolutely love it. I used to sit at my Grandma’s old computer when I was 10 and write stories that were pages long. Stories about anything and everything. I enjoyed English all throughout High School and College and it all came so easily for me. Except a few Children’s Literature courses, but that’s neither here nor there. So that being said, I’ve always had this urge to write but didn’t know how to go about it and for the longest time, I hate to say this, but I actually worried (was scared) about what people would think. You’re probably thinking, oh come on now, isn’t that the whole point of life, to not care about other people’s opinions? Well, it’s easier said than done. Going back to having a child and being huge and pregnant and having millions of people see your lady bits in the hospital, it’s almost as if I emerged from it all with a new sense of life and attitude. I figured that if I could go through something like that, I could definitely write some words on the internet. No biggy.

So here we are! I finally feel that I am at a place where change doesn’t completely terrify me and that I might as well try to do as many things that I want to do, because let’s face it, life’s short dude. This blog is my way of saying, “Yes I can” and ultimately allows me to feel like I am accomplishing something creative, which is very important to my soul. After publishing my first post yesterday I had a sense of excitement that I haven’t had in a very long time, so obviously this is the right thing for me. I will leave it at that or else the word vomit will rear it’s ugly head and pretty soon I’ll have over 1,000 words and my life story published. Let’s not do that k?

So thanks again for stopping by and I hope your day is as great as you are!

Leave a Reply

