Friends Make The World Go Round

So before I dive right in, I should probably explain to you that I celebrated my birthday on the weekend. Now, I don’t know about you guys, but I ended up learning the hard way that going out is a lot harder to recover from now than it was 5 years ago. Oops. Clearly, I have not learned from my past hangovers. But hey, I survived. I just won’t be doing that again for quite some time!

Anyways! I wanted to talk about friends. I had the best time on the weekend, and it was honestly the first time in a long time that I was that excited for an outing. Me and the best friend drove 5 hours to the big city to meet up with the other bestie (do I sound younger by using such slang?) and I could not have asked for a better weekend. There’s just something about getting together with the people that you have so many happy memories with and creating new ones. I’m talking about the friends that you don’t get to see as often as you’d like, but when you do you’re able to pick up right where you left off. It’s seriously the greatest feeling. I cherish these friendships and knowing that we were all able to get together to celebrate turning the big 2-5 was even better, because let’s be honest, in this day and age it’s so easy to say that you’re caught up with life and can’t committ to plans. I’ve been guilty of this in the past (which I hate to say) but now I realize that saying yes and making plans is a lot more fun than missing out and losing touch with the best people you know.

One thing that is for certain is the manner in which we go out anymore. I mean, before it was all about hitting the bars and dancing and getting drinks spilled all over us because the place was so jam packed with people. Like really, who didn’t enjoy a sweaty club with music that hurt your eardrums? Fast forward to now and we’re more concerned if we can order food and if the place is quiet enough for us to visit. Oh how the times have changed! We may have missed our pyjamas and Netflix for a brief second but once the conversation (and vodkas) started to flow, it ended up being a great night.

It’s a pretty cool feeling though to have friends from High School, College and beyond that can all get together and have a good time. Not many people can say that they still keep in touch with the old gang, and I have a sense of pride knowing that we were all able to keep this friendship up. Many of us are at different life stages, but we are still able to get together and enjoy eachother’s company. It’s crazy to think that most of us are doing “adult” things like getting married, buying our own houses, starting careers and having kids. It feels like just yesterday we weren’t paying attention in Biology and going out every night of the week in college. Nostalgic, I know.

This old age is making me appreciate what I have, and what I know for sure is that I have the best friends that anyone could ask for. So with that being said, call up (or text) your friend that you miss and haven’t talked to in a while because you’ve both been too busy to make plans. Even if it’s just to meet up for coffee because you’re too committed to your nightly routine of Netflix and sweatpants after 5PM and couldn’t imagine going out at that hour. Trust me when I say this, you won’t regret catching up. It’s way too easy to lose touch with people and if you have a great group of friends, hold on tight. They are hard to come by and in the end they are the ones that you’ll be happy to have around.

One thought on “Friends Make The World Go Round

Leave a Reply

