It’s The Little Things…

Ok, so I realize it has been FOREVER since I last posted, but boy oh boy, life can sure get busy when it wants to. Basically to sum it up this last week and a half has been a whirlwind and at the end of the day I was snoring before I could even think about writing. But that stops  today! So let’s begin…

**UPDATE** I started this post two nights ago and my lovely laptop decided  to freeze completely up, so here goes a third try.

Today, I want to talk about the little things in life, or in the day to day experiences we have. The minuscule moments that pop up or the ones we purposefully pursue in order to make life just a little bit happier for ourselves. Over this last week and a half there have been a couple family get togethers between my Dad’s 50th birthday and my cousin and his soon to be wife hosting Easter supper. There’s been a lot of laughs, a lot of food eaten and a whole bunch of good memories made.  Having Casey has made me really appreciate these gatherings and I find that I notice a lot more of the little things that I used to enjoy as a child when everyone gets together.  Watching him interacting with everyone and showing off (which is non stop) makes me so proud, but also so happy that he gets to spend time with the people I hold near and dear to my heart. Watching him laugh and play with my grandparents and also my cousin (who is basically like my brother) melts my heart and it really makes a person stop and enjoy the moment at hand. I know that can be difficult to do with the hustle and bustle of everything, but it does make you appreciate family time even more. I’ve found that after these family suppers were over that I was genuinely happy and glad that we were all able to take time out of our schedules and be together. It must be something about getting older, because you sure start to appreciate the time you have with the people you love.

Not only that, but for the first time in a long time I was able to enjoy my horses and actually ride for longer than a half hour. Last night I took my time and soaked up the nice weather, which are two things that are not a common occurance. There’s just something about being on a quiet backroad with the sun on your back and a good horse under you. I wish I could bottle up that feeling to use again for when I’m feeling down, because it’s definitely a feel good moment. I feel as though this last year has flown by and that I haven’t been able to ride near as much as I’ve wanted to, which definitely makes me anxious. Riding used to be my “me” time and my escape from the day to day blunders and I used to spend hours taking my time and trying new drills or riding through the pastures. Now, it seems as if there’s always a deadline to be done by and that I have to get right to it because there’s a million other things on my to do list. Oh the joys of adulting. So needless to say I definitely soaked up the relaxing time with my girls and took the moment in like it was going to be gone forever. You gotta appreciate them as they come, and I definitely took advantage of it.

FullSizeRender-3

Aside from my horses, my other past time that I don’t partake in enough is reading. This morning I was able to sit down and actually read, for a whole thirty minutes, with no interruptions or a phone buzzing and enjoy each and every page. Right now I’m reading “Big Magic” by Elizabeth Gilbert (she also wrote Eat, Pray, Love) and wow…it’s life changing. It’s funny how a book can simply change your thought process and inspire you to do things differently. I absolutely love it. I’m pretty sure I was beaming when I finally closed the cover this morning and I am already itching to open it back up tonight. I highly recommend it, it’s a book that’s good for anyone and can be applied to so many things. Having an almost 1 year old running around definitely makes it hard to sit down and relax long enough to get through a chapter, so needless to say I was stoked to do that this morning.

So for me, these are the little things. These are the things that make me stop and appreciate the moment I am in and be completely present. I don’t know about you guys, but I find it to be sooo important to find moments throughout the day to stop, reflect and be free of any distractions, even if it’s only for 5 minutes. I feel as if my mind is going 24/7 and to be able to be thought free and not be planning ahead or thinking about the 50 million things that need to be done in the next week or even day is crucial to my sanity. So if you’re up for it, find something you enjoy, whether it be a quiet activity or game night with the family, and allow yourself to be fully there. Soak up the moment and revel in each and every second as if it’s the only time you have. Hopefully, you’ll come out of it with a full heart and smile, I know I do.

Leave a Reply

