Casey Turns 1

April 1st has forever changed for me. It used to be a day full of pranks and genuine laughter, but now not only is it that, but it’s my baby’s birthday. On Friday I woke up with a sense of excitement and emotions were high. I was up until midnight the night before preparing Casey’s birthday cake (which I am definitely not a baker) and pulling off yet another joke on my Poppa. April Fool’s had always been “our” day and for many consecutive years we have pranked each other with great success. This year I kept it simple, and inbetween baking each layer of cake I snuck to his house and hung up a huge decoy owl right at his garage door to greet him in the morning (insert evil laugh). So needless to say when I woke up Friday morning I was bouncing with excitement for the day’s activities, but also for that phone call when the surprise finally got him.

For Casey’s birthday we decided to invite just family over that night and the plan was to roast hot dogs over the fire and enjoy some good food and cupcakes. It ended up being a beautiful day (I’m talking t-shirt weather) and you could definitely tell Casey knew something was up. He was absolutely goofy as soon as he woke up, and I had set up a teepee full of balloons to surprise him right after breakfast. As soon as he saw it his face lit up and he was bouncing around laughing and playing with the balloons (which by the way are a mother’s worst nightmare). I was on edge the whole time waiting for him to pop one with his teeth and potentially swallow it, scarring him for life and creating a life long fear of balloons. Sheesh, I can already feel the grey hairs sprouting. Aaaaaanyways, we basically filled the day up with decororating and prepping the food, so it went by pretty quickly. My theme, as mentioned in my first post, was a basic outdoorsy theme with lots of plaid, blue and gold. I was sooooo happy with how it all turned out and came together.

FullSizeRender-3

FullSizeRender-6

About 80% of the decorations were made, with the rest being dollar store or Etsy purchases. The week before I had Case paint his canvas with the number one because I knew I had wanted to display it and incorprate it into the dessert table. It definitely brightened it up, which I loved. His cake took quite a while and experimenting, but I’m definitely happy with how it came together. I decided to do a healthier cake for him because I didn’t think loading him up with sugar before bed would be the best idea. The icing was super simple as well, it was greek yogurt, cream cheese, honey and cinnamon whipped up (which tasted amazing) so it definitely helped keep the sugar levels down. My cousin was kind of enough to supply the stumps and slab of wood and I was able to gather pieces of the spruce and pine trees from around the house as accents.

FullSizeRender-5

Before the mess

FullSizeRender-8

For his backdop, I kept things easy and was able to get the huge number 1 balloon and custom banner off of Etsy and then for his high chair I was able to make the garland myself. I have a hard time spending money on things that I know I could easily make, so this was right up my alley. I went all out and decided to let Casey go after his cake all on his own (brave, I know) and it was totally awesome. Once he realized he could dig in, it was game on. He dived in head first and at one point I thought he was going to launch it off the high chair. YOLO right? He might not have eaten a whole lot of it but he definitely had fun demolishing it, and that’s all that mattered. After a quick bath, he came back out and “opened” his presents, which was basically him playing with the first toy he got out of the box and me taking care of the rest. It was a tough job, but someone had to do it.

It was definitely a great night and I was so happy to have all the family come out and celebrate him. There was a lot of reminiscing about how things were so different on that day a year ago, and how much he has changed in the last 12 months. I was able to print out each of his monthly pictures I had taken and hung them up for everybody to see. It definitely made my heart hurt to see how he wasn’t a little baby anymore and the fact that I barely remembered him being so tiny. But alas, it has been great watching him grow and turn into such a vibrant little boy. I can’t slow down time so I might as well enjoy it as it goes and cherish the changes as they come along. I can’t imagine how different he will be in another year and it’s exciting and heart breaking at the same time. Why didn’t anyone tell me that being a mom would be so full of emotions?! I don’t think I signed up to turn into quite a big softy, but here I am. My heart was full at the end of the night and Casey sure felt the effects of the party because he slept in until 8:30 the next morning (winning). All in all, it was a great day for a great kid.

FullSizeRender-4

The Cutest Birthday Dude

One thought on “Casey Turns 1

Leave a Reply

