Give Thanks

First and foremost, Happy Thanksgiving to my Canadian readers! I hope you all had a great weekend filled with way too much turkey and many laughs with your family and friends.

So, I’m back. To be quite honest, the reason I haven’t written anything in the last two months is simply this: I didn’t feel like writing.

It’s been a crazy couple months, with a lot of highs and lows, and I didn’t exactly have the time or energy to sit down and write anything worth reading. But alas, that’s over and done with and I feel quite optimistic in keeping up with this finally! Although, I am seeing a pattern where I only write when I feel like I’m finally content with life, so let’s hope it can stay that way! I have some Elle King and Lady Gaga playing in the background, with some cedarwood and patchouli in the diffuser, so the mood is set and I am ready to let my thoughts flow 🙂

Ah Thanksgiving. The time when we eat ourselves into food comas and (sometimes) indulge in a few too many drinks during and after supper. It’s a time where family all gets together and despite our best efforts we all fall asleep on the couch by 10pm. I must say it’s a great prelude to Christmas, and now that the weekend is wrapping up I feel like fast forwarding to December and gearing up for my favourite holiday.

Our Thanksgiving was a good one, despite both Casey and I fighting off colds we caught during our first whirlwind week of full time work and daycare. We were lucky to get a four day weekend to get our immune systems back up and running! Saturday was supper with my family, and it was definitely one of the quieter times we’ve had, since a lot of our favourite people had prior commitments. But, it was still nice to get together and visit, and Casey had a lot of fun showing off his stellar dance moves and all the new words he can say. This year was a far cry from the years before when we would all sit around with way too many rums or whiskeys and laugh until we cried until midnight, but hey, there’s always next year 😉

Since Casey is spending time with his Dad, I have the day to collect my thoughts and get caught up for the week ahead. I used to dread having this much time to think and be alone, but I am finally using it to my benefit and it allowed me to think about what I am grateful for this year. To say this year has been a difficult one is an understatement, but I’m not one to dwell on the negatives, so looking back at the last 9 months I have come to realize that I actually do have a lot to be thankful for.

Family. Without them, I honestly don’t know how I would have survived this far. They have sacrificed so much of their time to help me get where I am and keep my sanity, all the while they’ve done nothing but be patient and uplifting whenever possible. I feel very lucky to have the people I do in my family, and knowing that they are in my corner no matter what makes all the difference.

fullsizerender-2
Casey and Cousin Jord

 

Friends. Everybody needs a great group of friends in their life, whether it’s 5 or 20, you can’t go wrong when you know you have people who are willing to back you up and support any decision you make. My friends have gone above and beyond for me this year and I feel like I’ll owe them the rest of my life for the kindness they have shown me. Whether it’s a simple text, a much needed hug, or a hilarious FaceTime, they have all made me smile when I felt most like crying. Friendship is a lucky thing to have and I am proud to say I have the best friends anyone could ask for.

Casey. My sweet little man is my rock and reason for striving to be better everyday. He has proven to me that you shouldn’t take life too seriously and that laughter is the best cure for anything. Because of him I have a new found motivation to live better and be better, and I’m working my butt off to provide him with the life he deserves. The love I have for this kid is unexplainable, and I am so grateful to call him my son. They say motherhood changes you and I can definitely say for me, it has been for the better.

fullsizerender

With that, I hope you all take a moment to count your blessings and tell the ones you love how much they mean to you and how thankful you are to have them in your life. It never hurts to share a few uplifting words and in the end you’ll feel happy for making someone else happy.

Published by Caffeine and High Hopes

Mom to the sweetest little boy who keeps me humble and inspires me to be a better person. I'm a fan of health and wellness and believe in looking on the brighter side of things. I support strong willed women who value their independence and hope to help others through their journeys 💞

Leave a Reply

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading