New Year, Old Me? 

Happy New Years to you all! I’m hoping everyone enjoyed their Christmas and holidays and are ready to tackle the new year! 

A quick Christmas re-cap, we had a very chill and quiet Christmas, which is something we are definitely not used to but totally enjoyed. Casey was sooo into it this year, despite sleeping in until almost 9. So typical! We had a blast watching him open his presents and looking for Santa. Christmas with kids is by far the best, it definitely brings back the sense of excitement with them. Getting to stay home and be in one place all day was absolutely amazing and you can bet your ass I had those mimosas with breakfast. My Christmas spirit doesn’t take much to activate. 

The sweetest boy on Christmas

The weather was as nice as the Christmas sweaters


Anyways, now that the holiday rush is over and we are all back to reality, I’m sure a lot of you are either excited or neutral about the upcoming year. It’s funny how there are so many mixed reactions to a new year, there’s the ones who make a million resolutions (and maybe keep 2), those who see it as just another day and year, and there’s usually the odd few who make a couple goals and actually stick to them. Which one are you? 

As I start the next 365 days, I must say, I feel pretty good about what’s to come. I definitely have a clean slate to work with this year and I plan on filling it with a few great assets. I’m not one to embrace the “New Year, New Me” mantra, because frankly I don’t think it’s necessary. For me, I started this year off feeling like my old self. I used to be confident, happy and secure with my decisions and life, and it’s probably been a solid 3 years since I felt that way. Crazy right? That bubbly, energetic woman is starting to show herself again and that makes me excited in itself. ​As seen below, I was ecstatic to start 2017 in a great outfit and even better mood. 

In 2016 I merely reacted to the circumstances and was basically in survival mode all year. This year, I already feel much stronger (both mentally and physically) and am opting to be proactive and create the circumstances I want. No more sitting around and feeling lost, it’s time to get up and make the things I want happen. Seems easy enough, ha! 

For those of you who do make resolutions or use a simple phrase for the year, I have some suggestions: 

  • Don’t chase people or things
  • If it’s meant to happen, it will 
  • Don’t let anyone be mean to you
  • Be honest with yourself and to others 
  • Eat a vegetable at least twice a day 
  • Plan a holiday or trip! It doesn’t have to be far, just give yourself something to look forward to
  • Happiness. Use that word in every aspect of your life. Do things that make you happy. Be with someone who makes you happy. Say yes to opportunities that will make you happy etc…
  • Be gentle on yourself. Don’t feel guilty over your choices and practice positive self talk. You’re all you have at the end of the day 

I’m sure there’s a lot more we could add to this list, but just remember to keep it simple and enjoy your year no matter what. This could be the year of great change for some people, while for others it’s a continuation from the year before. Either way, enjoy your time and work towards your goals, I know I will be 😉 

2 thoughts on “New Year, Old Me? 

Leave a Reply

