Who Run the World? 

Girls. Duh. You don’t even need to be a fan of Beyoncé to know the answer to that question. Although…it does help that she is basically queen of everything so if she says us women run the world, then we’re not going to object. 

Obviously today I want to talk about women. Now before your mind starts racing, I’ll be more specific. I want to talk about women as a group and how we are generally all the same in our own complex ways. Still lost? Well let me explain…

Recently I attended a Wellness Workshop hosted by my favourite salon (Revitalized in Fairview, AB) and I was able to be a part of something that I whole heartedly believe in. Before I go into detail, I’ll give you a little background on the salon. 

It’s run by two sisters, along with their mom and they have a very energetic and welcoming staff that are always making you laugh and feel your best. They believe in keeping things local and supporting small businesses, as well as striving to spread positivity and love wherever they can. When I think of this group I think of immense support. These are the people who will pick you up off your feet and get you back in the direction you needed to go. So obviously when I heard they were hosting a wellness night, I had to go.

The night consisted of three speakers and their main goal was to help motivate and encourage us all to be the best that we could be, and what better timing than to do it at the beginning of the new year? Each speaker touched on topics of how to implement better eating habits, raise your self esteem, get more involved in any kind of physical activities, and how to be kind to yourself. It was a great example of how us women, when in a group setting, can actually lift each other up and show support and encouragement to people we don’t even know. The energy in the room was radiant and full of empathy. There were a few tears, which is inevitable when you get that many women in one room, but it was a great eye opener in the sense that everyone is fighting their own battles and sometimes a kind word can go a long ways. 


By the end, we all realized that we are much too hard on ourselves, which I think comes naturally for most women, and that there are so many different ways and strategies to starting and living the life we have always wanted. Women tend to put others first and their needs rarely get met. For me, this has always been true, and especially since becoming a mother it’s only magnified. I’m sure I’m not alone in this, and I just wanted to share a few things that I took away from this great night: 

  • No matter your schedule, there’s always opportunities to eat healthy, so research, plan and implement it, sometimes it’s easier than you think 
  • Get a support system. Whether it’s a family member, a couple friends or an online group, have someone to keep you accountable and positive in your journey
  • Practice self love. What hit home with me was “you wouldn’t talk to your children the same way you talk to yourself” so be careful with what you say to yourself and don’t allow negative thoughts to fill your head
  • We are all the same. We all have many insecurities and things we struggle with. So instead of comparing ourselves to others, take a moment and realize that we are all chasing our own goals and be ready to lend a helping hand when needed


Overall, the night left me feeling energized, compassionate towards others and ready to start the year off on the right foot. It was nice to take a step back and realize that hey, we are all in this together, we are all human, and we all just want to be happy. So whatever you may be wanting to do this year, whether it’s lose weight, eat better food, improve your mental health or make a total life change, I suggest you jump in with both feet, make a couple goals and create a plan that will allow you to reach them. We are all capable of doing anything we put our minds to and I hope that this year brings forth some amazing chances for you all 💞 

Leave a Reply

