Opportunity Comes a Knockin’

If you follow me on Instagram (@danimichelle09) you may have recently noticed that I started a new business venture and am trying to learn the ropes of working from home and being my own boss. I have started up as a stylist for the wonderful company of Stella and Dot, a company that offers beautiful accessories and a chance at create a living from the comforts of my own room. After tirelessly sending out my resume to any and every job that I could find, and not recieving any phone calls back (unless to say someone else got the job) I was starting to get a bit discouraged.

I’ve never been one to give up easily, but I was starting to get a bit panicky at the thought of not being able to get a job and support myself and Casey. Thankfully, I got the call after sending my resume out for the 100th time to a job I wasn’t totally interested in (now is not the time to be picky) and I knew I had to at least try out this new adventure. Now, the thing with this kind of job is that you get what you put into it. It’s not something you are going to make millions on overnight, and if you want to fully succeed you have to attack it from a business point of view. You have to log in the hours and create goals and work at them until they are achieved. I am the kind of person who will put 110% into something if I enjoy it, and while that’s good, it can sometimes take over all of my spare time.

A Home Office Space is a Must


Working from home isn’t entirely new to me. When I was taking my Education degree by correspondence I was used to scheduling time for assignments and studying and making sure I hit all of my deadlines. That was before I had Casey. Now, I am finding it a bit hard to create a good balance between work time and Casey time, but I have been able to set aside a couple days a week to tackle any to-do items and am working around his daycare schedule. Any other moms out there who are working from home that have tips or tricks to creating a good work/mom schedule?

I also feel that since this isn’t a conventional type of career or job, that it’s a bit harder to justify to others that I could possibly make a solid income from it. We live in a very traditional area, and home based businesses aren’t something that people truly believe in. This is where I’m having to trust myself and constantly battle any thoughts of doubt or fear. We all know that new things can be scary (what else is new), but I find that it is soooo easy to have one little negative thought creep in and then all of a sudden it multiplies into a non-stop stream of worry and discouragement.


So me being the positive (and slightly spiritual) person that I am, I took it upon myself to look for strategies to combat these situations so that I can really succeed within this. Obviously we know that confident people believe in themselves 24/7, but the problem is this: how do we truly feel confident with ourselves? I did a little digging and found that mantras and self-talk were one of the top ways to boost confidence, and honestly faking it until you make it. If you believe in yourself and already envision yourself as successful, then soon others will start thinking the same and it will only snowball from there. What we put out into the Universe will come back to us, so if we are thinking we are doing great, we are successful, and we are genuinely happy, then that means we will be getting those feelings or situations given back to us. Simple enough if you have an open mind.


One strategy I found that I really liked the idea of was taking a simple phrase or word and using it anytime a negative thought popped into your head. The phrase could be anything such as your favourite short quote, a word you enjoy, or anything that makes you happy or feel good. So if you’re thinking “Oh, I’m going to fail at this new job” then you simple dismiss the comment and replace it with your uplifting phrase. Easy peasy. Since I have started doing this, I have honestly noticed a shift within myself, I’m no longer thinking about what could go wrong as much and I’m having a much easier time falling asleep at night (and I promise it’s not the wine). It’s definitely worth a shot!

If you have any other strategies or tips at being successful at home, please feel free to comment and let me know! I would greatly appreciate any feedback. With that, I hope you guys have a relaxing Sunday and start your week off on the right foot tomorrow.

One thought on “Opportunity Comes a Knockin’

Leave a Reply

